Letters to Sia: Year One

Happy birthday! You just completed a full circle around the sun. You are too young to understand what that means, except for the fact that you get to eat cake for the first time today.

Last year on this day you arrived with your arms outstretched, as if to grab something to keep yourself from falling. I spent the first hour of your time here admiring you. I had a camera, but didn’t take a single picture. I have no regrets.

I spent the next few days running around, but I loved our special time together as I wheeled you in and out of the nursery a few times a day to see Mom. People I met in the hallways gave me a big smile when they saw you. Papa is proud.

Today you walk, laugh, dance, say “Bye”, bite with 6 teeth, climb down from the bed and even point with your finger. How did you learn so much so soon? Let’s go get you a driver’s license tomorrow.

Judging by the way I always hovered around you, my friends called me possessive and over-protective. I prefer the term ‘unapologetically attached’. They tease me sometimes: “What if Sia wants to wear mini-skirts when she grows up?” I tell them I’ll be completely fine with it. I’ll even come shopping with you and not whine one bit. I just have one word for you though: underwear.

You want Mommy all the time now: in the middle of the night, when you wake up in the morning, when you come home from daycare, and even when I’m right next to you. That’s okay. One day you’ll learn to appreciate the richness of chocolate and the thrill of amusement park rides. And I’ll be ready with a big, fat credit card.

This past year I made you wait for hours in a dirty diaper, walked you around busy streets on a hot day, tied you up in your car seat for God knows how long, sent you to a mean nanny, and took you into filthy, stinking subway elevators in New York. But you always let it pass and came back to me with a brilliant smile. Thank you for that.

And over this past year, you made me give up my new Xbox, books, TV, movies, talking to friends, going for hikes, eating out and sleeping in.  On top of that you turned me into a diaper-ninja, a multi-tasking robot, an early riser, a regular shaver, a dishwasher, laundry-lover, a vacuum-freak, garden-warrior, a super-masseuse, a pink-lover and an impromptu lyricist. Mommy loves you for this.

And I love you too.

3 comments

  1. Knew you would have posted on your blog after 8 months just to wish Sia… so here is wishing her a very happy birthday from us as well!!! for posterity’s sake as Parle G aunty says… 😛


Leave a Reply

